Edmonton Symphony Orchestra: Russian and American music

A summit meeting of Russian and American masterpieces demonstrate true international “harmony,” with brilliant works by Bernstein (West Side Story: Symphonic Dances) and Prokofiev (Violin Concerto No. 2). ESO Chief Conductor Alexander Prior is joined by 2017 Shean Competition Laureate Alice Lee, violinist, and ESO Principal Cello Rafael Hoekman. Tender works for cello by Tchaikovsky and Nicole Lizée’s twinkling Zeiss After Dark add colour and warmth for a winter’s afternoon.


  • BERNSTEIN West Side Story Symphonic Dances
  • TCHAIKOVSKY Andante cantabile, Op.11
  • TCHAIKOVSKY Pezzo capriccioso for Cello, Op.62
  • PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op.63
  • HANSON Merry Mount: Suite
  • LIZÉE Zeiss After Dark

Alexander Prior

Alice Lee
Violin (2017 Shean Competition Laureate)

Rafael Hoekman


Edmonton Symphony Orchestra: Music from West Side Story

American composers took the discipline and frameworks of European classical music and added swagger, jazz, and their own unique energy. Celebrate two centuries of quintessentially American classics such as Bernstein’s West Side Story: Symphonic Dances and Copland’s Lincoln Portrait, led by ESO Chief Conductor Alexander Prior.



  • BERNSTEIN West Side Story Symphonic Dances
  • COPLAND Fanfare for the Common Man
  • COPLAND A Lincoln Portrait
  • BARBER Overture to The School for Scandal
  • HANSON Merry Mount: Suite
  • MAZZOLI River Rouge Transfiguration